Activity Feed Forums Printing Discussions Roland Printers VS-640 Reliability and experiences….

• VS-640 Reliability and experiences….

Posted by Ian B on March 31, 2012 at 9:01 am

Hi,

Do any of you guys have any experience with the Roland VS series printer preferably in 6 colour white and metallic…

I’ve just ordered myself a VS-640! 😀

I do have some experience with using the VS-300 so i’m not a complete newbie to this however it doesn’t belong to me.

Any tips would be more than appreciated.

Ian

Shane Drew replied 12 years, 1 month ago 3 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • Shane Drew

March 31, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Yes Ian, I have two (and considering a 3rd). The 6 colour and the 8 colour.

They are basically maintenance free, BUT, you must keep them serviced at 6 monthly intervals. The heads are expensive but I have a service contract and the maintenance is carried out automatically.

Only problems I have is doing banners. The pinch rollers tend to pucker the material if you leave it to pull off the full roll.

I unroll it so it is loose, but it screws up the print length somewhat. I’m told I have to leave the banner tight on the roll, but the heads strikes caused by the pucker drives me nuts.

I could overcome the length issues if I calculate the difference, but I don’t usually worry. Its usually close, and I don’t do a lot of sail track work so its never been an issue.

Aside from that, no problems really. Mine often run 20 hours straight. The tracking is perfect if you get the rolls straight from the start. The colours are consistent, and if you use the Roland Colours, the results are stunning.

White prints slow at .5 metre per hour, and it is great on glass, but its fairly translucent on dark colours. You can do a layered print which is better, but it is also slower again.

I do a lot of window stickers, and it is perfect for that.