Activity Feed Forums Printing Discussions Roland Printers Roland SP300V Profile Advice please?

• Roland SP300V Profile Advice please?

Posted by Lloyd Morgan on June 14, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Just a quick question
    i’m fairly new to the wonderful world of solvent printing
    using a sp 300v

i’m currently printing on lg 3184 vinyl (think thats the correct number)
    in versaworks i’m finding that i get terrible liney/blotchy prints when i select the media as generic vinyl (no supirse) however if i select the media profile the suppier sent me foir this vinyl i get the same poor results.

BUT if i choose generic calender monometric profile that comes with versworks i get near perfect prints everytime?? works for every different vinyl i use

i’m confused? i would expect the actual media profile to be the best one

what am i doing wrong?

David Hammond replied 11 years, 11 months ago 3 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • Andrew Blackett

June 14, 2012 at 6:05 pm

I dont think you’re doing anything wrong! I’m a firm believer that if you feel a different profile works better then that’s your prerogative.

As long as they dry nice and print quality is good then that’s good, i use oracal 3164 profile on "max impact" on most things, oracal or not!

I had an actual mactac profile for some media and it printed horrible but flicked to oracal and it was great.

Andy

• Martin Pearson

June 14, 2012 at 7:14 pm

Like Andy says if another profile works better for you then great just use that. You are right in what you are saying though & the profile the supplier sent you for the particular media you are printing to should give the best results as long as it was constructed for your RIP (versaworks) & you are using the original inks for the machine.

• David Hammond

June 14, 2012 at 7:33 pm

I usually print using the correct profile but which works only exception is poster paper, it just won’t dry if there’s loads of ink coverage black seems worse.