Activity Feed Forums Printing Discussions Roland Printers Roland SC500 question

• Roland SC500 question

Posted by Shaun Gallaway on June 2, 2004 at 7:59 am

Hi all
    I am starting to get my head around my new printer (SC500 with heater fitted) and now have many questions to ask the guru’s. 😀

I am searching for a vinyl for printing that provides good results at a reasonable price.

I have tried a few different Avery products and am not really happy with any of them. Best results occurred with MPI 1005 EZ.

Mostly I am finding the ink (ECOSOL) is not getting into the vinyl leaving a pooling effect if you know what I mean.

As I am new to this game any suggestions on which vinyls others have had success with would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
    Shaun

Rodney Gold replied 19 years, 11 months ago 3 Members · 16 Replies
  • 16 Replies
  • Frog Man

June 2, 2004 at 9:41 am

Hi Shaun,

I have tried a lot of different types of vinyl on my SC 500 and the one I am most happy with is Oracal 641.
    It prints well and is very well priced also it comes in 1260 mm widths so you have a bit more to play with
    if you need to print a 1200 sign. As far as questions go I probably have more than you, here’s just a few.

Did you buy the SC 500 new ?
    Does your heater go any higher than 50 ?
    What software/drivers are you using ?

I have many other questions and perhaps some suggestions for you, feel free to e-mail me directly if you want.

Regards, Paul.

• Shaun Gallaway

June 2, 2004 at 10:01 pm

Hi Paul

Thanks for the reply mate. I will give the oracle vinyl a try. Can you recommend an east coast supplier?

Yes I bought my printer new. Got it about two weeks ago.

I can only get 50 out of my heater. I noticed in another thread that people are getting higher temps than this. Might have to ask Roland about this as some more heat may help out with my problem (i’m guessing???)