Activity Feed Forums Sign Making Discussions General Sign Topics Opinion please re suppliers response

  • Opinion please re suppliers response

    Posted by Jean Oakley on March 21, 2024 at 4:23 pm

    Hi all ill try and keep it brief. I ordered 15 poly carb panels end of January and due to issues with the customer changing things I only completed the job yesterday. The clear panels are to cover prints i have done for inside shelving units. They have shadows to show where each item should be paced. Originally i was just going to hand directly to the customer as i didn’t need to open them and they were all nicely wrapped up. The panels are 30mm too shallow, I’ve been with this supplier 20 years plus and although i ordered correctly and had supply sheet with the correct dimensions and the invoice the same they have been cut wrong. Company will not replace as they say i should have checked sooner. I say it shouldn’t matter as they were cut wrong and six days or six weeks shouldn’t change that they were cut wrong. They said it was too long ago for them to be able to work out who or what was to blame. I said that it wasn’t really my problem but the order being wrong was. I get the 3 days rule with damaged goods as they can be compensated by the delivery company. I asked to speak to a higher person and was told they’ll say the same thing but ill get them to call you. I’ve not heard back. Should i accept it? should i look to order elsewhere or have i got any come back? total cost is around £250.00

    David Hammond replied 2 weeks, 4 days ago 3 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Graham Scanlan

    March 21, 2024 at 7:28 pm

    Hi Jean,

    Sorry to hear you have issues, if your supplier has a cut off for reporting issues with a delivery, they have the right to stand their ground, and the responsibility should lie with the receiver, goods should be checked on receipt as it only effects your business if it’s wrong. Having said that if you have a long term relationship with your supplier, I’m sure they could come up with a solution that suites you both. In the past I’ve offered customers a little more discount on future orders to help soften the blow to the value off the issue. That’s the benefit of having account managers, I’m note sure if you have one with the said company

  • David Hammond

    March 21, 2024 at 9:06 pm

    There is a reason they have these kind of deadlines.

    I agree the panels were cut wrong, and that’s that… But imagine if someone ordered the panels, then cuts them down, only to try and get a discount/refund.

    Unfortunately not all customers are honest.

  • Jean Oakley

    March 26, 2024 at 11:06 am

    thanks for the replies people. I ended up using a spare panel and paying to get some 30mm stripes cut to place at the back of cupboards, Not my finest job but customer could see the issue and were understanding if a little annoyed it didn’t reflect well on me. I’ve now heard back from supplier today and they are offering to recut and send again free of charge on this occasion. I’ve now contacted end customer and they would like to have the correct panels so all sorted just a bit of cost my end and a bit of messing about for the customer.

    write 100 times


    • David Hammond

      March 26, 2024 at 11:32 am

      Easier said than done though isn’t it. I’ll admit I rarely check my orders, but luckily a very rare occurrence there’s an issue.

Log in to reply.