Activity Feed Forums Printing Discussions General Printing Topics Epson 9700 Pro – Thoughts

• Epson 9700 Pro – Thoughts

Posted by David Hammond on February 28, 2017 at 11:53 am

The opportunity has arisen to purchase an Epson 9700 pro from a customer of ours.

They’ve owned it from new, and hardly used it, and want to clear out the office it’s housed in.

I’ve run Roland, and now our OKI solvent machine, but this could be good for the poster printing we do, quicker & cheaper, and probably better quality too, so could print art prints, and print plans quickly & cheaply.

I’ve not the faintest idea when it comes to these machines.

What’s the general thought on them?

David Hammond replied 7 years, 1 month ago 5 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • Ian Judge

February 28, 2017 at 12:17 pm

Hi David,

Although I am a newbie in the Vinyl Cutting world….. printing….. Now thats my thing !

I have ONLY ever used Epson printers as and where ever possible from the small desk tops right up to the Wide Format Stylus Pro 9900 (except for my HP 8000S Eco Solvent printer (currently clogged!) as Epson not so good on Solvent printing!)

In my humble but experienced opinion, Epson are by far THE BEST inket printers available, If I were you I would not hesitate! (price being right ofcourse!)

As with all inkjets, if you want to keep them printing well, good quality and few problems….. fire it up minimum once a day and just print a random pattern that you can make on corel or similar to ensure it prints a sample page ranging through all of its printable colours, this will ensure the heads remain unblocked which is about the only problem you will ever face with an Epson printer !…… Just wish I remembered to do that with my HP 8000s !! :rollseyes:

• David Hammond

February 28, 2017 at 2:01 pm

Been to see the printer. It’s had little use, and stood for 6months. A few cleans later and all the heads are OK, except Cyan which a few more cleans will sort I suspect.