Activity Feed Forums Printing Discussions Printer Ink Epson 830 ink cartdridges

• Epson 830 ink cartdridges

Posted by Michael on January 31, 2004 at 7:49 pm

Hi everyone, I’m new to ths forum and need a liitle help. Just replaced my epson C80 with an 830 but can’t get the ink cartridges to work. Ink is Rotech from Listawood. I can get the black rotech working with the original epson colour and the rotech colour working with the epson black, but I cannot get both rotech to work in the printer at the same time…..does that make sense. I should be eternally grateful if anyone has any ideas how I might solve this?

Michael

Linda replied 20 years, 3 months ago 4 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Bill Dewison

January 31, 2004 at 8:39 pm

Hi Micheal and welcome to the uksignboards 😀

If I remember this correctly, most of the modern Epson cartridges have a security chip on the backside of them which can sometimes be faulty. You can buy a chip-programmer (unsure where from, but I can find out on Monday) but the best solution would be to get replacement cartridges.

The other bug bare with Epson is that they apparently have a shelf-life. Some sort of programming shuts the printer down after a certain number of prints. I was told this by a PC service engineer so it may be a male cow with no control of its digestive system, but if it is true, it is extremely naughty of Epson. Mind you, with a decent Epson costing around £300, its not all bad news I s’pose 😉

Cheers, Dewi

• Gazza

January 31, 2004 at 9:57 pm