• broadband

    Posted by MrMuckle on August 13, 2004 at 3:58 pm

    Anyone out there heard about the new, supposedly FREE, broadband service that’s starting in October. I’m pretty cynical myself and don’t believe you get “owt for nowt” so I have tried to find the catch but can’t. I don’t know if a url link will show up on this message but if it does have a look and let me know what the catch is coz it’s baffling me – the only thing I can see is that it’s a new kind of compression software and it speeds up a normal phone line so long as you have a fast enough modem. It would be handy for downloading high res imag files.

    coolinshot replied 19 years, 9 months ago 6 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • Nicola McIntosh

    August 13, 2004 at 8:18 pm

    hi!! 😀

    i do believe it works, and it’s free!! 😀
    a techy chum said so, but he also said there is alot of company’s pushing this service!! i’m not convinced myself….you don’t get anything for free in this life!! 😛 😛 😛


  • Nicola McIntosh

    August 13, 2004 at 9:23 pm

    just had an update folks!! 😀

    the reason it’s free, is once you sign up!! they are in control!! 👿

    junk spam etc etc & what ever you do, do not give your credit card details!! 😀 😀 i knew there was a snag !! 😀


  • coolinshot

    August 14, 2004 at 8:52 am

    Hi Nik (& Mr Muckle)
    I do agree with you that you get nothing for free in this world, however I have signed up for this service because I can control spam, if and when it starts coming in. And there is no section of the sign-up that asks for credit card, bank, or any other information that could be used in a fraudulent way. I think of it a bit like ITV, CH4 and CH5, it’s free, in theory at least, but you do have to put up with spam tv, (adverts), in order to get it.
    If the service is rubbish I will just stop using it and go back to paying for my broadband.
    It doesn’t start until October anyway, so I will let you know if I have been mugged or not before November.

    By the way, Mr Muckle, have you signed up for it?

    ps – it’s only free to the first 80 million (worldwide) apparently – after that it’s £2.99 per month for the service – sounds cosher to me.

    pps – anyone interested in a betamax video system 😳

  • semacc

    August 14, 2004 at 10:24 am

    I may be mistaken, but I think they make their money by forwarding to others your surfing patterns. That is all your uploads and downloads are passed through their central server – there fore they have automatic access to all your internet habits. Scary.


  • coolinshot

    August 16, 2004 at 9:02 am

    Hi John
    I use Spy Sweeper to wipe my pc of all the spyware that lands on my hard drive but it’s pretty impossible to keep out all the invaders.
    However, I can’t see how having your surfing habits tracked can affect you in any way other than directing particular advertisements towards you – I think if TV did the same thing, whereby you only see ads for things you are actually interested in it would be an improvement.
    But I do see SPAM and POP-UPS as a pain in the **** all the same. I went onto the link ( http://www.freespeed.co.uk ) registered and, apart from my registration confirmation, I haven’t had any problems with it and can’t see any catches at all……..yet.

  • Mike Rogers

    August 17, 2004 at 3:13 am

    It maybe me or the fact it’s 4.00am (sad lad) but I went on site but could not get past it wanting a referral ID

    How do you register if you want to


  • Mike Fear

    August 17, 2004 at 8:15 am

    Something very fishy about this looking at their claims.

    They reckon they can get a 2gig connection on a standard phone line with a 56k modem 🙄 even with compression software this isnt going to happen !

    Plus, they will pay people £28 for referrals – for a FREE service – even with selling advertising etc… cant see how they expect to make this back.

    And, if you sign up now you dont get the service until Oct.

    Looks like it may be some marketing thing to get peoples details from them to sell on to market research companies maybe ???

    Old saying – if it looks too good to be true, then it probably is !

  • John Cornfield

    August 17, 2004 at 8:38 am

    You get nowt for nowt!

    Probably lots of hassle in the long run just shell out the cash on a bonafide ISP.

    I use BT via ADSL at work on a 1mb and Blueyonder at home on a 3mb.

    Never had a problem with either.



  • coolinshot

    August 18, 2004 at 8:53 am
    quote Nike Mike:

    It maybe me but I went on site but could not get past it wanting a referral ID

    How do you register if you want to?


    Hi Mike – I got on ok without it asking for a referral at all – the referral number it shows on my screen in wwh1rpm – try that and see how far you get.

    also I think that somewhere it mentions that you need a modem faster than 97kbs – I presume this is a broadband modem.

    I still think it’s too good to be true but my curiosity has got the best of me – damn you Mr Muckle

Log in to reply.